New 7 Wonders of the World

The New7wonders foundation organises a voting campaign, called “Your Vote counts! Help Make History…“, on the Internet to constitute a new list of 7 Wonders of the World.
The 21 finalists were selected by the New7Wonders Panel of Experts from a longlist of hundreds of nominations, which followed certains criteria for candidacy. They are:
Acropolis, Athens, Greece
Alhambra, Granada, Spain
Angkor, Cambodia
Chichen Itza, Yucatan, Mexico
Christ Redeemer, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Colosseum, Rome, Italy
Easter Island Statues, Chile
Eiffel Tower, Paris, France
Great Wall
, China
Hagia Sophia, Istanbul, Turkey
Kyomizu Temple, Kyoto, Japan
Kremlin/St.Basil’s, Moscow, Russia
Machu Picchu, Peru
Neuschwanstein Castle, Schwangau, Germany
Petra, Jordan
Pyramids of Giza, Egypt
Statue of Liberty, New York, USA
Stonehenge, Amesbury, United Kingdom
Sydney Opera House, Australia
Taj Mahal, Agra, India
Timbuktu, Mali

Everyone can vote online or by phone until 7th July.
The New 7 Wonders of the Wolrd will be announced during the Official Declaration ceremony in Lisbon, Portugal on Saturday, 7th July 2007.

The foundation, which is the body behind the New7Wonders campaign, has the express aim of documenting, maintaining, restoring and reconstructing world heritage under the motto: “Our Heritage is Our Future.” The New7Wonders Foundation allocates fund for restoration projects worldwide, amongst others the reconstruction of the Bamiyan Buddha in Afghanistan.
More about the aims of the foundation: here.